Iucn red list 2021 upsc searching

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the IUCN Red List categories and criteria?

The IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria are intended to be an easily and widely understood system for classifying species at high risk of global extinction. It divides species into nine categories: Not Evaluated, Data Deficient, Least Concern, Near Threatened, Vulnerable, Endangered, Critically Endangered, Extinct in the Wild and Extinct .

Do you mug up all the species in news for UPSC prelims?

Every year in UPSC prelims there is one or more questions based on IUCN status, unique features related to many species that are in the news. However, it is a very difficult task and certainly not desirable that you mug up all those species in the news. Therefore, with this article/pdf we intend to make a list of Some Important Species in News.

How many elephants are on the IUCN Red List?

The IUCN Red List now includes 134,425 species of which 37,480 are threatened with extinction. Read about African Forest Elephants in the linked article. The updated data will be provided here post the publication of the IUCN Red List 2021 (September 2021).

Top URL related to iucn red list 2021 upsc